MINI Roadster
Transmission, start-stop, premium fuel and flex-fuel by model year, 2012–2015
TransmissionThe 2015 MINI Roadster is offered with a 6-speed automatic or a 6-speed manual, depending on configuration.
Auto start-stopNo. EPA lists no auto start-stop on any 2015 MINI Roadster configuration it tested.
Premium fuelEPA tested the 2015 MINI Roadster on premium fuel; your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.
Flex-fuel (E85)No. EPA does not list any 2015 MINI Roadster configuration as a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV).
2015 at a glance
6 configurations tested by EPA
EPA lists a manual transmission for the MINI Roadster in these model years: 2012–2015 (4 years of data from 2012–2015).
MINI Roadster features by model year
| ’12 | ’13 | ’14 | ’15 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CVT | 2012 CVT: None | 2013 CVT: None | 2014 CVT: None | 2015 CVT: None |
| Manual | 2012 Manual: Some | 2013 Manual: Some | 2014 Manual: Some | 2015 Manual: Some |
| Automated manual | 2012 Automated manual: None | 2013 Automated manual: None | 2014 Automated manual: None | 2015 Automated manual: None |
| Automatic | 2012 Automatic: Some | 2013 Automatic: Some | 2014 Automatic: Some | 2015 Automatic: Some |
| Start-stop | 2012 Start-stop: Not reported | 2013 Start-stop: None | 2014 Start-stop: None | 2015 Start-stop: None |
| Premium fuel | 2012 Premium fuel: All | 2013 Premium fuel: All | 2014 Premium fuel: All | 2015 Premium fuel: All |
| Flex-fuel | 2012 Flex-fuel: None | 2013 Flex-fuel: None | 2014 Flex-fuel: None | 2015 Flex-fuel: None |
Configurations by year
2015 MINI Roadster
6 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cooper Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl | 6-speed automaticS6 | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Cooper Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Cooper S Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed automaticS6 | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Cooper S Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| John Cooper Works Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed automaticS6 | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| John Cooper Works Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
2014 MINI Roadster
6 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cooper Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl | 6-speed automaticS6 | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Cooper Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Cooper S Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed automaticS6 | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Cooper S Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| John Cooper Works Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed automaticS6 | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| John Cooper Works Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
2013 MINI Roadster
6 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cooper Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl | 6-speed automaticS6 | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Cooper Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Cooper S Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed automaticS6 | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| Cooper S Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| John Cooper Works Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed automaticS6 | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
| John Cooper Works Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | Front-Wheel | No | Premium | No |
2012 MINI Roadster
5 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cooper Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl | 6-speed automaticS6 | Front-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Cooper Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl | 6-speed manual6-spd | Front-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Cooper S Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed automaticS6 | Front-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| Cooper S Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | Front-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
| John Cooper Works Roadster | 1.6L 4-cyl turbo | 6-speed manual6-spd | Front-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
Check before you buy or refuel Confirm on the window sticker, owner's manual or with the dealer. Trims and options can differ from the configurations EPA tested.
About premium fuel EPA data shows the fuel a vehicle was tested on. It does not say whether premium is required or only recommended. Your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.
Before using E85 Confirm the vehicle is a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV) in the owner's manual, or look for a yellow gas cap or an "FFV" badge. Not every version of a model is flex-fuel.
Source: U.S. EPA / Department of Energy vehicle data fromFuelEconomy.gov, data as of September 29, 2026.See how we classify vehicles.
More MINI lists
- MINI models without a CVT
- MINI models with a manual transmission
- MINI models with an automated manual transmission
- MINI models with a conventional automatic transmission
- MINI models with auto start-stop
- MINI models without auto start-stop
- MINI models EPA tested on premium fuel
