Acura RL
Transmission, start-stop, premium fuel and flex-fuel by model year, 2010–2012
TransmissionThe 2012 Acura RL uses a 6-speed automatic in the configuration EPA tested.
Auto start-stopEPA did not report auto start-stop data for the 2012 Acura RL.
Premium fuelEPA tested the 2012 Acura RL on premium fuel; your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.
Flex-fuel (E85)No. EPA does not list any 2012 Acura RL configuration as a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV).
2012 at a glance
1 configuration tested by EPA
EPA lists no manual transmission for any Acura RL from 2010–2012.
Acura RL features by model year
| ’10 | ’11 | ’12 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| CVT | 2010 CVT: None | 2011 CVT: None | 2012 CVT: None |
| Manual | 2010 Manual: None | 2011 Manual: None | 2012 Manual: None |
| Automated manual | 2010 Automated manual: None | 2011 Automated manual: None | 2012 Automated manual: None |
| Automatic | 2010 Automatic: All | 2011 Automatic: All | 2012 Automatic: All |
| Start-stop | 2010 Start-stop: Not reported | 2011 Start-stop: Not reported | 2012 Start-stop: Not reported |
| Premium fuel | 2010 Premium fuel: All | 2011 Premium fuel: All | 2012 Premium fuel: All |
| Flex-fuel | 2010 Flex-fuel: None | 2011 Flex-fuel: None | 2012 Flex-fuel: None |
Configurations by year
2012 Acura RL
1 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RL | 3.7L 6-cyl | 6-speed automaticS6 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
2011 Acura RL
1 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RL | 3.7L 6-cyl | 6-speed automaticS6 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
2010 Acura RL
1 configurations
| EPA model name | Engine | Transmission | Drive | Start-stop | EPA test fuel | Flex-fuel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RL | 3.7L 6-cyl | 5-speed automaticS5 | All-Wheel | Not reported | Premium | No |
Check before you buy or refuel Confirm on the window sticker, owner's manual or with the dealer. Trims and options can differ from the configurations EPA tested.
About premium fuel EPA data shows the fuel a vehicle was tested on. It does not say whether premium is required or only recommended. Your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.
Before using E85 Confirm the vehicle is a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV) in the owner's manual, or look for a yellow gas cap or an "FFV" badge. Not every version of a model is flex-fuel.
Source: U.S. EPA / Department of Energy vehicle data fromFuelEconomy.gov, data as of September 29, 2026.See how we classify vehicles.
More Acura lists
- Acura models with a CVT
- Acura models without a CVT
- Acura models with a manual transmission
- Acura models with an automated manual transmission
- Acura models with a conventional automatic transmission
- Acura models with auto start-stop
- Acura models without auto start-stop
- Acura models EPA tested on premium fuel
