Which Car Has

Chevrolet Volt

Transmission, start-stop, premium fuel and flex-fuel by model year, 2011–2019

TransmissionThe 2019 Chevrolet Volt uses a CVT in the configuration EPA tested.

Auto start-stopYes. The 2019 Chevrolet Volt has auto start-stop, according to EPA data.

Premium fuelEPA tested the 2019 Chevrolet Volt on regular gasoline, not premium; your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.

Flex-fuel (E85)No. EPA does not list any 2019 Chevrolet Volt configuration as a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV).

2019 at a glance

1 configuration tested by EPA

CVTAll
1 of 1
1 hybrid eCVT
ManualNone
0 of 1
Not offered
Auto start-stopAll
1 of 1
Premium fuelNone
0 of 1
EPA test fuel
Flex-fuel (E85)None
0 of 1
No FFV versions

EPA lists no manual transmission for any Chevrolet Volt from 2011–2019.

Chevrolet Volt features by model year

All configurationsSome configurationsNoneNot reported by EPA

Configurations by year

2019 Chevrolet Volt

1 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
Volt1.5L 4-cyl plug-in hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratiosFront-WheelYesRegularNo

2018 Chevrolet Volt

1 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
Volt1.5L 4-cyl plug-in hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratiosFront-WheelYesRegularNo

2017 Chevrolet Volt

1 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
Volt1.5L 4-cyl plug-in hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratiosFront-WheelYesRegularNo

2016 Chevrolet Volt

1 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
Volt1.5L 4-cyl plug-in hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratiosFront-WheelYesRegularNo

2015 Chevrolet Volt

1 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
Volt1.4L 4-cyl plug-in hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratiosFront-WheelYesPremiumNo

2014 Chevrolet Volt

1 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
Volt1.4L 4-cyl plug-in hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratiosFront-WheelYesPremiumNo

2013 Chevrolet Volt

1 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
Volt1.4L 4-cyl plug-in hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratiosFront-WheelYesPremiumNo

2012 Chevrolet Volt

1 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
Volt1.4L 4-cyl plug-in hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratiosFront-WheelNot reportedPremiumNo

2011 Chevrolet Volt

1 configurations
EPA model nameEngineTransmissionDriveStart-stopEPA test fuelFlex-fuel
Volt1.4L 4-cyl plug-in hybridCVT (hybrid eCVT)variable gear ratiosFront-WheelNot reportedPremiumNo

Check before you buy or refuel Confirm on the window sticker, owner's manual or with the dealer. Trims and options can differ from the configurations EPA tested.

About premium fuel EPA data shows the fuel a vehicle was tested on. It does not say whether premium is required or only recommended. Your owner's manual or fuel-door label is the authority.

Before using E85 Confirm the vehicle is a flex-fuel vehicle (FFV) in the owner's manual, or look for a yellow gas cap or an "FFV" badge. Not every version of a model is flex-fuel.

Source: U.S. EPA / Department of Energy vehicle data fromFuelEconomy.gov, data as of September 29, 2026.See how we classify vehicles.

More Chevrolet lists

Other Chevrolet models